1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice

Better At Aikido

Discussion in 'The NF Café' started by TheChoji, Nov 12, 2005.

1. TheChoji

I've been taking Aikido for about 6 weeks now, and I have to say my first impression of it was that they would go slow and easy on me since I'm a novice. Wrong! Everyone there was either 4th of 5th cue (blue and yellow belts) besides my friend and I (He will be a yellow belt around January and I have no rank). So obviously they went a little slow at first, but started picking up speed like one of those gay sports cars without a roof. It was challenging and I prevailed slower than most, and somehow I pulled through.

So far the most difficult part of class is stretching because there are so many of them. Especially the backwards rolls (I still a little edgey on names). Can you belive it took me 6 weeks to execute them all by memory!

Here's what I can do now. Four wrist stretches, 3 ab stretches, a forward roll (left and right side) correctly, a backward roll (left side correctly), 2 combos techniques, and how to fall without busting your head open. Not to mention how to put a gee on (the belt was a little tricky at first, but now I know you have to do 2 knots, not just one). I'm really excited because next week I get to start going to adult classes, which will be even harder, but I'm determined to prevail onward. By now you notice I have no talent at all.

So does anyone have any tricks to make my rolls easier? Maybe something that helped you?

Tags:
  2. xeno

Wish I could be of help, but I was always more of a Taekwondo person.

3. Near

4. Quoll

Took Karate for 3 years and I still can't tie the damn belt.

5. Chamcham Trigger

lol practice is the only thing that can help you. Nothing much else.

6. Luckey