1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice

Help motivating a crappy artist?

Discussion in 'Art 101' started by Vandire, Dec 2, 2005.

1. Vandire

The main reason I came to this site (though by far, not the only one) is because the art section seemed like a really cool place.

I'm a crap artist, as the thread title suggests- I've been trying to learn how to draw for a while and always end up giving up then trying again a few months down the line. Its just depressing seeing the stuff that ends up on paper, and thinking of the original idea that was in my head, or looking at the picture on screen I was basing it on. It sucks.

I want to become a good artist, and I know that it'll require a lot of work, and long and short of it I was wondering if anyone had any advice on good methods to learn by, or ideas on how to stay motivated, stuff like that.

If neccessary I can scan in a not-quite-as-crap-as-most drawing I've done to prove my suckiness, without doing *too* much damage to peoples eyes in the process.

Doesnt help that my current gf and previous gf were both qualified artists, and yet the most advice I got was "start with the general shape, then add in details. and practice a lot."

*le sigh*

So, yeah. Help/advice/opinions/ideas anyone?

Tags:
  2. OniTasku

As much of a pain-in-the-ass it is, you need to get down basics. By that, I mean shading, anatomy, muscles, folds, the way light affects objects, scenery and all of that. Try first doing a lot of still-life drawings and work on your basics there. Gradually, you'll become fairly good with that and with that base you can start to work your way up and draw more original and creative work which you think of. I'd highly suggest you not go right into drawing your own stuff without having the basics down.

Well, hope that helps somewhat. :amuse

3. syarul