1. Ohara Library Banner Contest

    The Beasts Pirates demand your services.
    Join the OL Banner Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

    Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Winter is coming one last time...

    Dismiss Notice
  4. Come enter in the KCC Cooking Contest!

    Dismiss Notice
  5. Some Pokémon went missing during Easter time. Please, help us to solve this case. Check Detective Pikachu and the Eggstravaganza Case.

    Dismiss Notice
  6. The Anime Awards of 2018 have started! Click here to see the post!

    Dismiss Notice

Help with external drive

Discussion in 'Tech Hub' started by RodMack, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    I recently removed my hard drive from my old computer. I bought a hard drive enclosure and put my old hard drive in it. My external drive connects through a USB cable. When I connected my external drive to my computer, it detected it and said that was installed and ready to use. However when I checked on "My Computer" it wasn't there. Apparently it wasn't assigned a drive letter. And for some strange reason now when I connect it to my computer, it starts lagging like hell. And it still is not assigned a drive letter. This is my first time using an external drive. I dunno if I made a mistake in something. All I know is that I need help.
     
    Tags:
  2. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Take the drive out of the case and remove the jumper.

    If that doesn't fix the issue you could initialise the drive, but that is usually reserved for drives that haven't been partitioned yet.

    To initialise a drive goto my computer and right click. Select manage. Select 'disk management' and see if that drive is there. From there you can give it a drive letter and create partitions.

    Is this a drive with data you want to keep on it? Or is a wiped drive?
     
  3. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    I don't know much about hardware, so I don't know which is the jumper.

    What do you mean by wiped drive?
     
  4. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Ok, this is the jumper: this

    By a 'wiped drive' I mean is there any data on it you want to keep, or are you starting with a clean formatted drive, ie: the data has been wiped.
     
  5. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    I don't think the jumper is connected to the drive.

    And the drive has data I want to keep.
     
  6. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Then it's possible the drive wasn't connected properly. Pull it out of the case and reconnect it in the case. Then reconnect to the PC. If it has no drive letter then you can goto the manage function I described above and assign a drive letter.
     
  7. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    But the problem when I connect it to the PC is that it lags like hell and nothing seem to open.
     
  8. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    What kind of PC do you have? CPU/Ram/Operating System.

    It maybe that your don't have USB 2 drivers installed.
     
  9. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    It's OS and I do have USB 2 drivers installed.
     
  10. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
  11. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Oh crap, hell no.

    What do you mean what type of PC I have?
     
  12. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Dude, what kind of CPU do you have?

    How much ram do you have?

    What operating system are you running?

    Do you understand these questions? Are you new to computers? If so read this post. It has alot of terms you need to understand.

    Naruto PimP
     
  13. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Well, I don't really talk alot about computers, and I get confused sometimes.

    Intel Pentium D CPU 2.80 GHz, 2.38 GHz
    1.99 GB of RAM
    Windows XP Media Center Edition Version 2002 Service Pack 2
     
  14. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Ok. Have you tried plugging the drive into different USB ports?

    You should also make sure that your USB is working correctly.

    Start - Control Panel - system - hardware - device manager

    Check the 'universal serial bus controller'. Open the + tab and look for any question marks or exclamation marks.
     
  15. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    No, all my USB ports are fine. And I've tried on ever port, but it's always the same.
     
  16. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Well if you're certain there is no USB problem then there may be something wrong with the drive itself or the external enclousure.
     
  17. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    All I know is that the power cable and the IDE cable are connected to the hard drive, but I dunno if that's a problem.
     
  18. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    The power/IDE is supposed to be connected. It must be a hardware problem if you went through all the steps I suggested.
     
  19. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    How would I know if the hard drive is set on master or slave?
     
  20. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
  21. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Is the jumper a some little object that's between the power connector and the IDE connector? Why did I not notice that.
     
  22. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
  23. RodMack Spiral Arrow

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    I feel like such an idiot know.

    Well I took it out now. Now I'll see if it works now or if it's still the same. Though it's getting late, so I'm gonna have to save it for another day. If it still doesn't work, I'm gonna have to take the external drive to the store I bought it from and see if they know the problem or not.

    Thanks for your help. :)
     
Loading...