1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

    Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Forum Skin Contest:

    Let us know if you’re participating or would like to participate in a forum wide skin contest. If so, please give us your opinions here.

    Dismiss Notice

Horrible Windows Media Player!!

Discussion in 'Tech Hub' started by Mobius, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. Mobius Engage

    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    268
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    I wasn't exactly sure where to post this 'cause I'm a n00b.

    Whenever I try to take a screenshot of a Naruto Episode while using Windows Media Player, it won't work.

    Let me explain a little...

    I pause at the part I want. Hit "Print Screen". Open paint/Photoshop. Paste. My desktop is displayed. I try to crop out the part I want, it won't work. How do you people get all those nifty images? :(
     
    Tags:
  2. ColdFire New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    hehehe i was asking the same thing a few months back...you need programs to do it...cant remember names but one that works is Snap!It or something, you will need to buy it or get a crack of it though because the demo leaves watermarks on the picture
     
  3. co_co_the_monkey one stupid monkey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    go to options or whatever, and mess with the screen skip option. the slower the better.
     
  4. ~K+ Member

    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    You need to go to options and turn off video acceleration completely, or just pull it to zero.

    Either that, or use another program like PowerDVD that actually has a screencapture button.
     
  5. co_co_the_monkey one stupid monkey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    yeah, thats what i was trying to say.
     
  6. Mobius Engage

    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    268
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Thanks guys. ^__^
     
  7. Hyuuga_Mars New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    to screen capture in windows media player... press ctrl+I and save to where you want
     
  8. Vaelen Lazyness Incarnate

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    What he said.. ;-)
     
  9. Sasuke-Kun An avenger

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    If you have windows XP you get movie maker,by uploading episodes you can take screen shots easily on this program and also add simple effects if you wish.
     
  10. Stoic Fallen Angel

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    woah, I never knew that. Thanks! x]
     
  11. iOWa Immortal

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    oh yeah? :confused:
     
  12. Mobius Engage

    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    268
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Oh! Movie Maker... I didn't know I had this program on here.

    And thanks guys! ^__^
     
  13. Vaelen Lazyness Incarnate

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Yes! Don't try to question my authority!! Damn you! (Skogen Brinner!!)
     
  14. iOWa Immortal

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Well, you have no power here. Join the other side. :p :p :p
     
  15. Squirrel King Squirrel King

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Unrelated, anyone else having problems playing music with WMP? It will skip around to random tracks I dont want it to. I open an album and it starts like in the middle, then plays one that is like 2 after it, then it like crashes.

    I'd use Winamp but I love Dance of the Freaky Circles!
     
  16. Vaelen Lazyness Incarnate

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Don't use WMP so I can't help you I'm afraid..
     
  17. iOWa Immortal

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    try the newest version, maybe it can fix the problem. =)
     
  18. Lannon New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Did you accidently enable the shuffle feature? Click Play -> Shuffle to enable/disable. I don't know why it would crash, though. That doesn't seem related to shuffle.
     
  19. LaJon ララ・ルー!

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Turning off video overlay makes it to where you can capture video with print screen.
     
  20. aLkeMiSt Curious

    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    I have to admit, Windows Media Player 10 is horrible compared to 9.
     
  21. Boco Flookie

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    How so? I was thinking about upgrading (not that I really need to, since I use something else, but it is generally a good idea to upgrade when it comes to Microsoft).
     
  22. Aoi fancy

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    I use for 90% vlc player. ANd for 10% wmp.
     
  23. aLkeMiSt Curious

    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    You should have seen Windows Media Player 10 Beta... it was horrible!! When I tried to switch back to Windows Media 9, it wouldn't let me. And this is when I only downloaded the beta version.
     
  24. Aoi fancy

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    The old media player probably still exists somewhere in your /system32 folder.
     
  25. aLkeMiSt Curious

    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Meh... I'm too lazy to go searching for it now. At least the final release of Windows Media 10 has dozens of fixes from the beta version.
     
  26. technician tech

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    dont use print screen, use ctrl +I.
     
  27. I_tach_I New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    why do you even bother using wm? vlc is the best for everything
     
  28. Squirrel King Squirrel King

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Heh...
    Yea... I did...
    I did the same thing with Winamp which I downloaded to fix the problem. Then I was like ... "Du'h"

    EDIT - And yea, I think 7 it was.. was the best WMP microsoft has put out. That or 6.. I don't remember. Because I have 10 now. Don't like. But now I use WinAmp so it doesn't matter.

    But for those who want an older version and don't know about it.
     
  29. MechaTC Mike, The Genius Penguin

    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    WMP 10 works great on my machine. I love WMP!!!!!!! If by some chance a file doesn't play on WMP I use Real Player.
     
  30. Fullmetal Moderator

    Messages:
    2,372
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    893
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    lol, i dont personally have wmp 10 on my computer...but my friend does.
    his wmp 10 flickers (turns back as if you switched to full screen mode) the screen for like a 1/2 a second everytime he starts to play a file. not sure if thats normal, but yaeh. just wanted to bring something up. like just incase that flickering might do something during the long run :S
     
Loading...