1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

    Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice
  2. GN

    Come join the Football/Soccer Women's World Cup and Copa America predicting competitions.
    Dismiss Notice

  3. Voting for the Contest Central Drawing Contest is live!
    Entries can be found here and the voting threads can be found here and here.
    Voting ends on Sunday, June the 30th!
    Dismiss Notice

  4. Come enter in the KCC Cooking Contest -- Drinks!
    Dismiss Notice

  5. The KCC is hosting a Short Story Contest!
    Entries are due by July 9th at 2:30am UTC!
    Dismiss Notice

Memory help

Discussion in 'Tech Hub' started by Crowe, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. Crowe inactive - most of the time

    Messages:
    19,350
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    Anyone know any good 512 > 1024MB RAM memories for;


    Bought this motherboard like a week after it was released and i've had problems with using some RAM memories and had to clock it down for it to work without BSoD every half hour. So this time i thought that i'll ask you guys here before making a stupid purchase.
     
    Tags:
  2. CrazyMoronX Old Man

    Messages:
    74,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Reputation:
    I would think Corsair would work in it, but if you really wanna be sure, try it's more expensive, but you'd be able to select your board and it is guaranteed to be compatible.
     
  3. Crowe inactive - most of the time

    Messages:
    19,350
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    Money is a big problem atm, since i just spend nearly 400$ this month. So it would be great if there we're abit cheaper RAM's. And on another sidenote, do you know where i can buy the small fan for ATI 9600XT? I accidently lost some of the screw when i was cleaning the dust from it and now im using tape >,>
     
  4. Ssj3_Goku Hey dood!

    Messages:
    18,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    A. i really dont like 754 socket motherboards. ( no duel channel )

    B. Did u try updating the bios? because usally some ram does not work well if u did not.

    C. Like crazy said cruicil ram should work really well with that motherboard. ( does for mine although i have a 939 socket)


    here is the ram i got cruicial is cheap and good.




    about the vid card Call ATI if u still have the warrenty they will send u a nwe part. IF not they might charge u .
     
  5. Crowe inactive - most of the time

    Messages:
    19,350
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    Yes i tried updating didnt work, went to the computer store and asked for help, they told me to mail them, i send 10 mails iwth no response.

    I dont think i got the warrant, but do you know where i could contact them? Im willing to pay just to get it fixed >.>
     
  6. Ssj3_Goku Hey dood!

    Messages:
    18,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    would be my first start.
     
  7. CrazyMoronX Old Man

    Messages:
    74,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Reputation:
    That motherboard isn't even listed under Crucial... so that won't really help, I checked into it.

    I would go with the Corsair, I know some boards won't take any non-ECC ram, but it doesn't say that on the boards specifications.

    As for the fan, I'm not really sure, a privately owned small PC Store might be able to help you out there, but you never really know. I know the one by me always has a lot of spare parts.

    Take a look at this Memory testing table that is available from the sites FAQ section:



    Go down to the "Can you recommend a specific memory type for working with WinFast K8N (Pro)? " section and look in there.

    It has the Corsair listed as compatibile, and a few others and speeds etc... that might help.
     
  8. staradderdragoon is owning at being a

    Messages:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Reputation:
    i dunno. but i do know that crucial ias very good. i wonder if its possible to buy ram directly from the vendor? like say samsung, hynix, infineon, or elpida?
     
  9. Ssj3_Goku Hey dood!

    Messages:
    18,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    yes u can buy it directly from the vendor i belive.
     
  10. Crowe inactive - most of the time

    Messages:
    19,350
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    Ah thank you thank you and thank you more, and its pretty crucial. It feels like my computer is dying, whenever i start Photoshop or any 3d rendering programs, the computer just freeze up.

    Oh, and could you tell me which memory scored best in the test on the faq site since i know basically nothign about RAM.
     
  11. Mecha-Kisame Buckle up your head belt.

    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004






    Crucial, Kingston, Corsair, and Mushkin are all good brands.
     
  12. CrazyMoronX Old Man

    Messages:
    74,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Reputation:
    Well the tests aren't really conclusive as to which is better, it's just a compatability listing, as far as I can tell.

    You should be fine with either Kingston, Corsair, or any of the other brands listed.
     
  13. Crowe inactive - most of the time

    Messages:
    19,350
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    BUMP
    Do you think that this memory is compatible with my motherboard?
    My motherboard
    Supports PC3200/PC2700/PC2100/PC1600 DDR SDRAM unbuffered DIMMs

    3 x 184-pin DDR DIMM sockets for up to 2GB memory



    The RAM I want
    TwinMos 1 GB ( 2 x 512 MB )
    DRAM
    DDR SDRAM
    DIMM 184-pin
    400 MHz ( PC3200 )
    CL2.5
    2 x memory - DIMM 184-pin
     
  14. Crowe inactive - most of the time

    Messages:
    19,350
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
  15. Ssj3_Goku Hey dood!

    Messages:
    18,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    yes it will work. Sucks that your motherboard does not support OCZ ram thats the best on the market.
     
  16. Jaxel ShiShi-Rendan.com

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Reputation:
    Corsair XMS Low Latency Platinums... simply the best RAM you can get... available in the specs you desire.

    PERIOD.
     
Loading...