1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

    Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice

New DSL Connection?

Discussion in 'Tech Hub' started by Mr. Vash, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. Mr. Vash

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    Do anybody know any good DSL connection? Right now I have comcast, but it's being gay. I keeps cutting off on me lately, so I'm looking around for anything good that I might use. Thanks. :blink
     
    Tags:
  2. Mecha-Kisame

    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004






    That happens with everything.
     
  3. Tourniquet

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Reputation:
    Indeed.. Even here in Belgium its acting veeeerrry annoying..
     
  4. Triggenism

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Reputation:
    Yeah, it has been like that for me too. But then it disappeared, so just wait and it will disappear after awhile!
     
  5. roguenoir

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Reputation:
    It happens with all the providers out there. The only thing I can think of around that is to do what larger businesses do: get multiple ISPs so that even if one or two go down, the others are still up and running.
     
  6. MechaTC

    Messages:
    4,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Reputation:
    have you considered cable internet?
     
  7. ۩ReYmДN-dono۩

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Reputation:
    all connections give problems from time to time i have adelphia power link(hig speed) and it gives me problems.....and always is some problem with their system or something
     
  8. unimatrixzer0

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Reputation:
    ^ I think thats what HyuugaVash already has. Comcast doesn't offer DSL, only Cable from what I know.

    Maybe consider another cable company for internet? I have comcast cable tv but I use a different cable company in my area for internet because they're better.

    Check to see if you can get Verzion FIOS in your area as well. I'm hoping Verizon offers FIOS in my area soon. A direct fiber connection would be awesome.
     
  9. MechaTC

    Messages:
    4,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Reputation:
    My cable rarely goes out. maybe once a year for a couple hours.
     
  10. ۩ReYmДN-dono۩

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Reputation:
    what company?
     
  11. R?d??l_??

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Reputation:
    I'm using Comcast Cable and for the most part it's stable. Though it's difficult for me to tell when it's down since I'm connected to the modem through a wireless 802.11g connection where the router and my adapter is approximitly 50ft away through three rooms and half a floor. So when I lose my internet connection, it's either because of Comcast or my wireless adapter. Most of the time, it's the adapter.

    Anyways, if you want DSL, I would say Verizon Online since my friend uses it and he's happy with it. It's quite fast and fairly reliable.
     
  12. Beatnik

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Reputation:
    How about we also recommend ISPs that dont have a usage limit or block any ports (basically p2p friendly ISPs)?
     
  13. Mr. Vash

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Reputation:
    Well, a lot of problems goes to Comcast rather than my modem. I'll see about Verison Online/FIOS, it sounds promising. And thanks for your replies everyone
     
  14. itachiapprentice

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Reputation:
    Man i need a new connection myself:notrust
     
  15. ZeroBlack

    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Reputation:
    Ugh this isn't news, don't you have somewhere else to post this?

    Also I agree, this happens sometimes even with the best internet providers. But could be worse, you could have AOL :zaru
     
  16. DaNuKA_SAN

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Reputation:
    It's the NSA...haxoring ur netvarks.

    /tinfoil hat
     
  17. Saufsoldat

    Messages:
    22,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Reputation:
    What exaclty made you feel like you needed to bump a 3 year old thread?
     
  18. Smoke

    Messages:
    28,540
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    1,678
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Flag:
    Mexico






    Verizon FIOS is the shit!!!!!!!

    It uses fiber optics instead of some copper as a medium. Everything travels as light, not electricity, light.

    Mine is 5X faster than comcast and it's cheaper



    I beat nubs on HALO 3 then I beat my meat from the pr0nz that I was downloading while beating the nubs.
     
  19. MechaTC

    Messages:
    4,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Reputation:
    I forgot I posted in here lol

    anyway, I have cox communications. I live in CT
     
  20. brettc

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Reputation:
    I have cox cable and it has gone out 1 time for me in 1 year.
     
Loading...