1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

    Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Forum Skin Contest:

    Let us know if you’re participating or would like to participate in a forum wide skin contest. If so, please give us your opinions here.

    Dismiss Notice

New DSL Connection?

Discussion in 'Tech Hub' started by Mr. Vash, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. Mr. Vash Member

    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Do anybody know any good DSL connection? Right now I have comcast, but it's being gay. I keeps cutting off on me lately, so I'm looking around for anything good that I might use. Thanks. :blink
     
    Tags:
  2. Mecha-Kisame Buckle up your head belt.

    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    That happens with everything.
     
  3. Tourniquet reBorn.

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Indeed.. Even here in Belgium its acting veeeerrry annoying..
     
  4. Triggenism Aspiring Debater

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    367
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Yeah, it has been like that for me too. But then it disappeared, so just wait and it will disappear after awhile!
     
  5. roguenoir S-Ranked Pervert

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    It happens with all the providers out there. The only thing I can think of around that is to do what larger businesses do: get multiple ISPs so that even if one or two go down, the others are still up and running.
     
  6. MechaTC Mike, The Genius Penguin

    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    have you considered cable internet?
     
  7. ۩ReYmДN-dono۩ ۩ N/A۩

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    all connections give problems from time to time i have adelphia power link(hig speed) and it gives me problems.....and always is some problem with their system or something
     
  8. unimatrixzer0 I was violated by Sasuke X(

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    ^ I think thats what HyuugaVash already has. Comcast doesn't offer DSL, only Cable from what I know.

    Maybe consider another cable company for internet? I have comcast cable tv but I use a different cable company in my area for internet because they're better.

    Check to see if you can get Verzion FIOS in your area as well. I'm hoping Verizon offers FIOS in my area soon. A direct fiber connection would be awesome.
     
  9. MechaTC Mike, The Genius Penguin

    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    My cable rarely goes out. maybe once a year for a couple hours.
     
  10. ۩ReYmДN-dono۩ ۩ N/A۩

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    what company?
     
  11. R?d??l_?? The W?rd

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    I'm using Comcast Cable and for the most part it's stable. Though it's difficult for me to tell when it's down since I'm connected to the modem through a wireless 802.11g connection where the router and my adapter is approximitly 50ft away through three rooms and half a floor. So when I lose my internet connection, it's either because of Comcast or my wireless adapter. Most of the time, it's the adapter.

    Anyways, if you want DSL, I would say Verizon Online since my friend uses it and he's happy with it. It's quite fast and fairly reliable.
     
  12. Beatnik bebop

    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    How about we also recommend ISPs that dont have a usage limit or block any ports (basically p2p friendly ISPs)?
     
  13. Mr. Vash Member

    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Well, a lot of problems goes to Comcast rather than my modem. I'll see about Verison Online/FIOS, it sounds promising. And thanks for your replies everyone
     
  14. itachiapprentice internationally known

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Man i need a new connection myself:notrust
     
  15. ZeroBlack S-Rank Knocker of Common Sense

    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Ugh this isn't news, don't you have somewhere else to post this?

    Also I agree, this happens sometimes even with the best internet providers. But could be worse, you could have AOL :zaru
     
  16. DaNuKA_SAN variable

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    It's the NSA...haxoring ur netvarks.

    /tinfoil hat
     
  17. Saufsoldat POOP TRAIN CONDUCTOR

    Messages:
    22,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    What exaclty made you feel like you needed to bump a 3 year old thread?
     
  18. Smoke ▄█▀ █▄ █▄█ ▀█▀

    Messages:
    28,548
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    1,577
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Verizon FIOS is the shit!!!!!!!

    It uses fiber optics instead of some copper as a medium. Everything travels as light, not electricity, light.

    Mine is 5X faster than comcast and it's cheaper



    I beat nubs on HALO 3 then I beat my meat from the pr0nz that I was downloading while beating the nubs.
     
  19. MechaTC Mike, The Genius Penguin

    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    I forgot I posted in here lol

    anyway, I have cox communications. I live in CT
     
  20. brettc Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    I have cox cable and it has gone out 1 time for me in 1 year.
     
Loading...