1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice

Officer or Private?

Discussion in 'Konoha Plaza (Old)' started by KUREIGU, Jun 8, 2005.

1. KUREIGU

OK after i finish college next year im joining the army (this is in the UK by the way so college is 16-18 education not university)

i'm hoping to join the royal army medical corps, my question is which role to join up with?

if i join up as a private i will be a combat medical technitian, (a medic), if i join as an officer i will be a medical suppourt officer, basically a medic with authority, i meet the educational requirments for either, the officer option has oppertunities for higher education (degee) and better pay,...sounds good ... but i have one major problem

my Dad, his ex-army he joined as a private in the infantry and did the ranks all the way to sergant major, and he seriosly has a grudge against the people that join the army only to go straight to Lieutenant,

he believes that only spoilt rich boys join as an officer rather than going through the ranks.

and thats basically my problem, you might say why do you care what your dad thinks, but its weird, he has spent the last 18 years bitching about how easy everyone else has it compared to him, how officers don't know what its like to be a real soldier, if i join in the army as an officer its gonna be "you took the easy option you whimp" for the rest of my life, but i feel it gives me better opertunities than joining as a private, not to mention the pay is much better if you climb the officer ranks.