1. Dismiss Notice
  2. OPFC

Are you an artist that loves One Piece? Join the OP Fanart Contest in the Ohara Library!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice
  4. GN

Come join the Football/Soccer Women's World Cup and Copa America predicting competitions.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice

Question on career advice(art)

Discussion in 'Art 101' started by TAM ZEDEKIAH, Jun 5, 2007.

1. TAM ZEDEKIAH The Palace guardian

sorry if Im posting this in the wrong place

For majority of my life I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life.I usually went to school came home and played videogames. I didn't really have any hobbies.But then I discovered drawing.Thats when I decided that this is what I have to do ,so i started drawing.The problem is I started doing this when I was seventeen (Im 18 now :( )
    And then upon entering college I decided to major in advertising design and graphic arts..

But from time to time I can't help but feel that Im destined for failure.Ive been told from alot (including my advisor) that people who wants to get in this field has had some experience in art.Some of my friends who want to go in this field has been drawing since they were children.I started to draw a little more than a year ago and my progress is not that good. My brother told me that I should major in something like liberal arts,buisness (or some other Bs) so I have something to fall back on and learn art on my own(or join devry afterwards)
    others just tell me its not a good field to join finacially all together.None these people have any passion for art so i really can't take their advice

I know there are some artists out there that can help me out(this is one of 3 other forums Im posting this in) What would be smartest and best path to do? any kind of suggestion would help

Tags: