1. img
    Come enter in the Dragon Ball Banner Contest!
    Deadline for entries: February 29th by 12:00pm UTC.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. img
    Voting is live in the Valentines Event!
    Click here to cast your vote for your favorite couple!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. img
    Bounced e-Mails Issue

Some accounts cannot post in NF anymore due to an e-mail related issue!
    If you are among those members, please, check this thread for more information about how to proceed!
    Or create a support ticket by going here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice

So how does this route thing work?

Discussion in 'Fate/Stay Night' started by reiatsuflow, Oct 12, 2014.

1. reiatsuflow

I'm new to the franchise after Fate/zero. From what I understand, fate stay has three routes with different heroines. I know fate stay night has saber. I know unlimited blade works has rin. I know heaven's feel has sakura. I know the route seems to branch into these different stories at some point in time and different things happen in different routes. At first I thought it was just about showing the same story from three different perspectives, but that doesn't seem to be the case. Different hings happen to the characters.

Is there any plot related reason for the split into three different tellings? Something to do with the grail? Is there cohesion? Are heaven's feel, fate stay night and unlimited blade works three different stories unrelated to each other but set in the same time?