1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

    Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice

very important need help

Discussion in 'Tech Hub' started by the 1 and only jj, Oct 7, 2006.

  1. the 1 and only jj

    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Reputation:
    ok well here's the stroy, when i got my first comp (about 8 years ago) it ran great. but then i up graded and later on upgraded again but gutted out my second comp. so my first comp i gave to my little borther just so he can have it to watch movies on and play music and do what evere hw he had on it. well it ended up breaking down yesterday and when you start it up it will be on for like max 3mins and then it will just shut it's self on. so i took it's HD and it's cd and dvd drive and put it in my old dell since i knew that my dell worked fine but it just didn't have a cd or HD drive. so i went to go reformat the hard drive and install windows xp on the new HD but then it just turned off. so i know it's something wrong with the HD. what im wondering is if there is any way to wipe a HD clean with out turning on the computer. because im sure that there is something on the HD thats making it restart. so is there any way to wipe the HD with out turing the comp on?
     
    Tags:
  2. ShinAkuma

    Messages:
    5,540
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Flag:
    Canada
    Reputation:
    If it is the HD that is making it restart then there is a physical problem with the HD and trying to save it by reformatting won't work.
     
  3. the 1 and only jj

    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Reputation:
    damn i was hoping that it wasn't that. mayb i can just get a cheap one from one of my friends.
     
  4. ShinAkuma

    Messages:
    5,540
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Flag:
    Canada
    Reputation:
    Hard drives aren't too expensive anymore. You could probably pick one up for $50 bucks or less.
     
  5. the 1 and only jj

    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Reputation:
    yeah i know but currently im running low on cash and since i know my brothers gonna be getting a new comp ion like 2 months i don't really want to spen money on it.
     
  6. Taffer

    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Reputation:
    There's always ebay...and you get the bonus of discovering that the previous owner didn't wipe the disk properly and they leave porn on it :p (from genuine experience).

    Anyway...seriously i got a hard disk real cheap from dabs.com....it was a uk site, i assume theres a us one.
     
  7. poppin123

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Reputation:
    you could try using a program called norton ghost, you can run the hardrive as a slave on a computer that works, and with norton ghost, it removes all information from it. Norton ghost personal is like 30$. So you might as well just buy a new HD, unless you're willing to obtain software in other ways taht are looked down upon by some.
     
  8. the 1 and only jj

    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Reputation:
    wow i don't know why i didn't think about that. but since there is a problem iwth the HD i dought it would work. plus my brother had some viruses and crap on his comp nad i kind of don't want to hurt my baby.
     
Loading...