1. Ohara Library Banner Contest

    The Beasts Pirates demand your services.
    Join the OL Banner Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

    Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Winter is coming one last time...

    Dismiss Notice
  4. Come enter in the KCC Cooking Contest!

    Dismiss Notice
  5. Some Pokémon went missing during Easter time. Please, help us to solve this case. Check Detective Pikachu and the Eggstravaganza Case.

    Dismiss Notice
  6. The Anime Awards of 2018 have started! Click here to see the post!

    Dismiss Notice

very important need help

Discussion in 'Tech Hub' started by the 1 and only jj, Oct 7, 2006.

  1. the 1 and only jj Katon Goukakyuu no Jutsu

    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    ok well here's the stroy, when i got my first comp (about 8 years ago) it ran great. but then i up graded and later on upgraded again but gutted out my second comp. so my first comp i gave to my little borther just so he can have it to watch movies on and play music and do what evere hw he had on it. well it ended up breaking down yesterday and when you start it up it will be on for like max 3mins and then it will just shut it's self on. so i took it's HD and it's cd and dvd drive and put it in my old dell since i knew that my dell worked fine but it just didn't have a cd or HD drive. so i went to go reformat the hard drive and install windows xp on the new HD but then it just turned off. so i know it's something wrong with the HD. what im wondering is if there is any way to wipe a HD clean with out turning on the computer. because im sure that there is something on the HD thats making it restart. so is there any way to wipe the HD with out turing the comp on?
     
    Tags:
  2. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    If it is the HD that is making it restart then there is a physical problem with the HD and trying to save it by reformatting won't work.
     
  3. the 1 and only jj Katon Goukakyuu no Jutsu

    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    damn i was hoping that it wasn't that. mayb i can just get a cheap one from one of my friends.
     
  4. ShinAkuma Fanboy Destroyer

    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    1,028
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Hard drives aren't too expensive anymore. You could probably pick one up for $50 bucks or less.
     
  5. the 1 and only jj Katon Goukakyuu no Jutsu

    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    yeah i know but currently im running low on cash and since i know my brothers gonna be getting a new comp ion like 2 months i don't really want to spen money on it.
     
  6. Taffer lol wut

    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    There's always ebay...and you get the bonus of discovering that the previous owner didn't wipe the disk properly and they leave porn on it :p (from genuine experience).

    Anyway...seriously i got a hard disk real cheap from dabs.com....it was a uk site, i assume theres a us one.
     
  7. poppin123 Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    you could try using a program called norton ghost, you can run the hardrive as a slave on a computer that works, and with norton ghost, it removes all information from it. Norton ghost personal is like 30$. So you might as well just buy a new HD, unless you're willing to obtain software in other ways taht are looked down upon by some.
     
  8. the 1 and only jj Katon Goukakyuu no Jutsu

    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    wow i don't know why i didn't think about that. but since there is a problem iwth the HD i dought it would work. plus my brother had some viruses and crap on his comp nad i kind of don't want to hurt my baby.
     
Loading...