1. Welcome to the forums! Take a second to look at our Beginner's Guide. It contains the information necessary for you to have an easier experience here.

Thanks and have fun. -NF staff
    Dismiss Notice

Your Identity = Your nationality???

Discussion in 'Perspectives' started by zionforsell, Aug 26, 2005.

1. zionforsell

I am not good at explaining issues, especially at issues which are sensitive like these. So I am gonna tell a "little" trouble I have with my nationality. I am French, Vietnamese, and Dutch. I was born in France. I lived in Vietnam, Australia, Canada, France and currently living in the US. Whenever we have a discussion about politics or history in our class. I am always being put on the spot. And let me tell you, it is not easy!

First, they assume they know about my background from the minute they glance at me. Don't you hate it when people look at you and go: "Oh man, you are German, you defintely know about Nazis and Hitler!" "You are European? Good kisser, eh?" "Oh, a third world immigrant, I hope your life is better now!" "You are Irish? Do you drink?"<= these are examples for everyone so they can relate to this issue, not only myself. (obviously some doesn't care to think so they don't know who I am directing to. To prevent any more thoughtless post like that, I will include this) Not only it irritates us, it troubles us by misleading people about who we are, what we stand for. This history teacher always makes remark about how the French hates American. Then he came by the subject of manners and stuff. He asked me. I simply said that in Europe, they treat ladies in a much more polite manner, that French meal often has a smaller portion than American meal. Then he said: "Of course you don't like American way, you are French!" Then he assumes that I am a chic who care about her hair than education!